Congratulations to all Teaching Award Recipients!

Posted on May 02, 2022

Teaching Awards

Each year the university solicits nominations for three Alumni Teaching Excellence Awards, and the UNC System Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching.  A committee comprised of UNCG faculty and students selects recipients for the Alumni Teaching Excellence Awards and chooses UNCG’s nominee for the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching which is conferred by the Board of Governors Committee on Personnel and Tenure.

UNC BOG Excellence in Teaching Award
Dr. Nadja Cech, Patricia A. Sullivan Distinguished Professor, Dept. of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Mary Settle Sharp Award for Teaching Excellence
Dr. David Wharton, Associate Professor, Dept. of Classical Studies

James Y. Joyner Award for Teaching Excellence
Prof. Erin Speer, Assistant Professor, School of Theatre

Anna Maria Gove Award for Teaching Excellence
Dr. Jessica McCall, Senior Lecturer, Dept. of Communication Studies


Instruction/Education Related Awards

Education is about more than what goes on inside the classroom and the next awards recognize excellence in mentoring, academic program assessment, and advising. The Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award from the Graduate School honors a full-time tenured faculty member with outstanding success in mentoring graduate students at the master’s or doctoral level.  The Thomas Undergraduate Research Mentor Award honors faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in the mentoring of UNCG undergraduate students in research or creative inquiry.  The Student Learning Enhancement Award honors departments, programs, or individual faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in academic program assessment leading to enhanced student learning.  The Advising Excellence Award honors a full-time faculty member with at least two years of service to UNCG who has demonstrated excellence in advising.  Student feedback is considered when selecting the award recipient.  The Outstanding First-Year Student Advocate Award recognizes the significant contributions of faculty and staff who work to create a positive transition to college and promote the success of students’ first year at UNCG. Candidates show noteworthy impact on student learning and retention, demonstrate best practice when working with first-year students, and present contributions that are innovative and sustainable.

Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award
Dr. Rosemery Nelson Gray, Professor, Dept. of Psychology

Thomas Undergraduate Research Mentor Award, Pre-tenured Category
Dr. Jaclyn Maher, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Kinesiology

Thomas Undergraduate Research Mentor Award, Tenured Category
Dr. Asa Eger, Associate Professor, Dept. of History

Student Learning Enhancement Awards
DMA and MM degree in Music

Advising Excellence Award
Prof. Robin Maxwell, Senior Lecturer, Dept. of Biology

Outstanding First Year Student Advocate Award
Dr. Jeffrey Kaplan, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Philosophy


Research Excellence Awards

The research excellence awards were established to recognize the outstanding research and creative accomplishments of UNCG faculty.  The Senior Research Excellence Award is conferred based on research career accomplishments, especially achievements within the past five years.  It is presented to a full-time faculty member at the rank of professor.  Faculty at the rank of assistant or associate professor are eligible to receive the Junior Research Excellence Award, which is primarily based on work at UNCG within the past five years.

Senior Research Excellence Award
Dr. Ratnasingham Shivaji, H. Barton Excellence Professor, Dept. of Mathematics and Statistics

Junior Research Excellence Award
Dr. Hemali Rathnayake, Associate Professor, Dept. of Nanoscience


Service Leadership Award

The O. Max Gardner Award is the highest faculty honor awarded by the UNC Board of Governors, given annually since 1949.  The award was established by Gardner’s will to recognize faculty who have “made the greatest contributions to the welfare of the human race.”  Those chosen in the past have made notable contributions of national or international scale.  Each university in the UNC System may nominate one faculty member annually, and the Board selects the winner from the nominees.  Today, we recognize UNCG’s 2022 nominee.

O. Max Gardner Nominee
Dr. Eugene Rogers, Professor, Dept. of Religious Studies