August 7, 2023

MEMORANDUM

To: UNCG Faculty and Staff

From: Debbie Storrs, Provost & Executive Vice Chancellor

Beth Fischer, Vice Chancellor of University Advancement

RE: Nominations of Candidates for Honorary Degrees

Colleagues,

The Committee on Honorary Degrees invites you to identify people who would be good candidates for honorary degrees to be granted at a future commencement ceremony. The purpose for awarding honorary degrees includes the following:

- To recognize individuals who demonstrate extraordinary achievement over their entire scholarly
 or artistic careers or who have performed distinguished public service in their lifetime;
- To recognize excellence in the scholarly fields of degrees awarded by the University as well as those that exemplify the history and mission of the University;
- To honor those individuals whose lives and achievements are consistent with the qualities and values espoused by the University in order to provide examples of the University's aspirations for its graduates;
- To elevate the visibility and reputation of the University by honoring those individuals who are widely known and regarded in their field or in society as a whole.

The person selected may be distinguished in any number of areas: humanities, sciences, arts, public service, and education, to name a few. Those currently holding public office in the state and the permanent staff of our state universities are not eligible. The achievements may vary in scope from prominence on the international or professional scene to vital contributions to the University, North Carolina, and beyond. A previous connection to the University or state is not mandatory but is considered a strength.

In order for you to have an idea of the persons who have received Honorary Degrees, we invite you to examine the names of awardees from past years: William Curry, David Sprinkle (2022); Dennis Quaintance (2021); Nancy King Quaintance (2021); Rhiannon Giddens (2019); Emmylou Harris (2019); Mansukh C. Wani, William Mangum (2017); William Black, Harold Schiffman (2016); Timothy Rice (2015); Norman Anderson (2013); Bonnie McElveen-Hunter (2012); Thomas Haggai (2011); Margaret Maron (2010); Rebecca Lloyd, Nido Qubein (2009); Fred Chappell, Tom Ross, Kay Yow (2008); Irvin Belk, Betty Ray McCain, Edwin S. Melvin (2007); Molly Broad, Henry Frye, Shirley Frye (2006); Muriel Siebert (2005); Jim Hunt (2004); Jaylee Mead (2003).

The committee asks that you submit candidates using the <u>Honorary Degree Candidate Nomination</u>

Form. Please keep in mind the need for confidentiality, as candidates should **not** be aware that they are being considered. The deadline for nominations is **Friday, September 1, 2023.**