## Governor James E. Holshouser, Jr. Award for Excellence in Public Service Award Recipients



The Public Service Award was created in 2007 to encourage, identify, recognize, and reward public service by faculty of the University. Faculty of any of the 17 institutions of the University of North Carolina are eligible.

YEAR	NAME	INSTITUTION	MAJOR/FIELD
2022	Cherry Beasley	UNC Pembroke	Interim Provost & Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
2022	Bonnie Fusarelli	NC State University	Professor, Dept. of Educational Leadership, Policy and Human Development
2021	Jane Hoppin	NC State University	Professor of Biological Sciences
2021	Arwin Smallwood	NC A&T	Department Chair, Professor of History
2020	Billy Ogletree	Western Carolina University	Catherine Brewer Smith Distinguished Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders
2019	Martin Posey	UNC Wilmington	Professor of Biology and Marine Biology
2019	Mark West	UNC Charlotte	Department Chair, Professor in English
2018	David Westling	Western Carolina University	Adelaide Worth Daniels Distinguished Professor of Special Education
2018	Walt Wolfram	NC State University	William C. Friday Distinguished University Professor in NC State's Department of English
2017	Gregory Chadwick	East Carolina University	Dean of ECU's School of Dental Medicine
2016	Steve McKeand	NC State University	Professor of Forestry and Environmental resources
2015	Sylvia Flack	Winston-Salem State University	Executive director of Winston-Salem State's Center of Excellence for the Elimination of Health Disparities
2015	Carmen Russoniello	East Carolina University	Founding director of ECU's Center for Applied Psychophysiology
2014	Kurt D. Michael	Appalachian State University	Professor of Psychology
2013	Ben Bahr	UNC Pembroke	Distinguished Professor in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
2012	Harold Braun Reiter	UNC Charlotte	Professor of Mathematics
2011	Thomas G. Irons	East Carolina University	Professor of Pediatrics and Associate Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences
2010	Michael Walden	NC State University	William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor and Extension Economist
2009	James R. Cook	UNC Charlotte	Professor of Psychology
2008	Lessie L. Bass	East Carolina University	Associate Professor of Social Work and Director of the Lucille Gorham Intergenerational Center
2007	George P. Wilson	NC Central University	Professor of Criminal Justice