Group Picture of Faculty Excellence Award Recipients

Faculty Honored for Teaching, Research, Advising, and Service

The 2019 Faculty Awards Ceremony was held April 17 in the Elliott University Center Auditorium, honoring UNC Greensboro faculty who display excellence in teaching, research, mentoring and enhancing student success.

Board of Trustees Chair Brad Hayes joined Provost Dana Dunn in presenting awards and Dr. Alan Boyette assisted in the ceremony. The ceremony included videos produced by UNCG media studies students and Professor Michael Frierson that highlighted the recipients’ accomplishments and teaching.

The recipients of the 2019 Faculty Awards are:

    • Dr. Dianne Welsh: UNC Board of Governors Excellence in Teaching Award
    • Dr. Mariche Bayonas: Mary Settle Sharp Award for Teaching Excellence
    • Dr. Amanda Gale: James Y. Joyner Award for Teaching Excellence
    • Dr. Aaron Terranova: Anna Maria Gove Award for Teaching Excellence
    • Dr. Pam Kocher Brown: UNCG Award for Excellence in Online Education
    • Dr. Susan Keane: Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award from the Graduate School
    • Dr. Ruth DeHoog and Dr. Ken Klase (on behalf of MPA program, Political Science): Student Learning Enhancement Award
    • Dr. Ramji Bhandari: Thomas Undergraduate Research Mentor Award
    • Sarah Dunning: Advising Excellence Award for Faculty Advisor
    • Steve Haines: Gladys Strawn Bullard Award
    • Dr. Matina Kalcounis-Rüppell: Holshouser Award for Excellence in Public Service nominee
    • Dr. Tom Martinek, Sr.: O. Max Gardner Award nominee
    • Dr. L. DiAnne Borders: Senior Research Excellence Award
    • Dr. Risa Applegarth: Junior Research Excellence Award

Six faculty members received 30 years of service awards: Dr. Keith Debbage, Dr. John Lepri, Roberta (Robin) Maxwell, Dr. Jonathan Tudge, Dr. Kathleen Williams, and Dr. Michael Zimmerman.

Six received 35 years of service awards: Dr. Rebecca Adams, Cathy Griffith, Mary Eloise Hassell, Dr. Susan Keane, Professor Jo Ramsay Leimenstoll, and Dr. Jerry Walsh.

Three were recognized for 40 years of service: Dr. William Karper, Dr. Stephen Layson, and Mark Schumacher.

Enjoy the 2019 Faculty Awards videos below:

2019 UNCG Teaching Awards:

2019 UNCG Service Leadership Awards:

2019 UNCG Mentoring, Assessment, and Advising Awards:

2019 UNCG Research Excellence Awards:



Videos by UNCG media studies students and Professor Michael Frierson

Photography by Jiyoung Park, University Communications